What Professional Sports Teams Play in July?

The answer to what professional sports teams play in July may surprise you – there’s a lot more than just baseball! Check out our list of teams and see if your favorite is playing this month.

Checkout this video:


Major League Baseball

In the United States, Major League Baseball (MLB) is the highest level of professional baseball. The MLB regular season runs from late March/early April to late September/early October, with a post-season of up to five rounds of playoffs in October, culminating in the World Series championship.

In July, all 30 MLB teams are playing games almost every day. Many people consider baseball to be America’s “national pastime”, and July is a great time to catch a game or two.

National Basketball Association

The National Basketball Association (NBA) is a professional basketball league in North America. The NBA is widely considered to be the premier men’s professional basketball league in the world. It has 30 teams (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada), and is an active member of USA Basketball (USAB).

National Hockey League

The National Hockey League (NHL) is a professional ice hockey league composed of 30 member clubs: 23 in the United States and 7 in Canada. Headquartered in New York City, the NHL is considered to be the premier professional ice hockey league in the world, and one of the major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada.

National Football League

In the National Football League, training camp begins in late July. The first preseason games are typically played the first week of August.


NASCAR racing takes place throughout the United States during the summer months, with the majority of races taking place in July. The NASCAR Sprint Cup Series is the top level of professional stock car racing in the country, and its marquee event is the Daytona 500, which is held in Daytona Beach, Florida each year. Other major events on the NASCAR calendar include the Coca-Cola 600 in Charlotte, North Carolina; the Brickyard 400 in Indianapolis, Indiana; and the Pennsylvania 400 in Long Pond, Pennsylvania.

PGA Tour

The PGA Tour is a professional golf tour for men which is administered by the PGA of America. The tour began in 1929 and originally consisted of 35 events. The PGA Tour is the biggest and most popular golf tour in the world, with 47 events taking place in 2019. In July, there are four PGA Tour events taking place:

-The John Deere Classic: This tournament takes place from July 11-14 and is held at the TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Illinois.

-The Barbasol Championship: This tournament takes place from July 18-21 and is held at the Keene Trace Golf Club in Nicholasville, Kentucky.

-The Rocket Mortgage Classic: This tournament takes place from July 25-28 and is held at the Detroit Golf Club in Detroit, Michigan.

-The Canadian Open: This tournament takes place from July 31-August 3 and is held at the Royal Montreal Golf Club in Montreal, Quebec.


The LPGA Tour is a women’s professional golf tour. The tour was founded in 1950 by the Ladies Professional Golf Association, and is now operated by the United States Golf Association. It is currently the only women’s golf tour sanctioned by the USGA.

The LPGA Tour has a global membership of around 2,500 women professionals from more than 30 countries. Tour events are played in the United States, Canada, Mexico, Australia, Asia, and Europe. Prize money on the LPGA Tour exceeded $ 100 million for the first time in 2007.

In July, the LPGA will have 10 events:
-July 6-9: Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic in Oneida, Wisconsin
-July 12-15: Marathon Classic presented by Owens Corning and O-I in Sylvania, Ohio
-July 19-22: AIG Women’s British Open at Woburn Golf Club in Milton Keynes, England
-July 26-29: UL International Crown at Glen Brorie Country Club in Ovens, Ireland

IndyCar Series

The IndyCar Series is the premier level of open-wheel racing in North America, and one of the world’s fastest motorsport series. The IndyCar Series competes primarily on oval tracks, but also holds events on road courses. The series is regulated by Indy Racing League, LLC, which also organizes the NASCAR Xfinity Series and the NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series.

FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup is an international soccer tournament that is held every four years. The 2018 edition will be held in Russia from June 14 to July 15.


Wimbledon is a world-famous tennis tournament that is held in London, England every summer. It is the oldest tennis tournament in the world and is considered to be one of the most prestigious events in the sport. Wimbledon is played on a grass court and features both singles and doubles competitions. The tournament is open to all players who are ranked in the top 64 in the world.

Scroll to Top