The Top 5 Texas Sport Teams

The top 5 Texas sport teams are the Dallas Cowboys, the Houston Texans, the San Antonio Spurs, the Texas Rangers, and the Dallas Mavericks.

Checkout this video:

The Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys are a professional American football team based in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex. The Cowboys compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) East division. They are one of the most successful teams in the history of the NFL, having made eight Super Bowl appearances, tied with the Pittsburgh Steelers and the Denver Broncos for second most in league history behind only the New England Patriots’ eleven appearances. The Cowboys have won five of those Super Bowl appearances, tying them with their NFC rivals, the San Francisco 49ers; both teams trail only Pittsburgh who have made six trips to football’s biggest game. The Cowboys have an extensive fan baseHas large followings among fans outside of Texas as well

The Houston Texans

The Houston Texans are a professional American football team based in Houston, Texas. The Texans compete in the National Football League as a member club of the American Football Conference South division. The team plays its home games at NRG Stadium in Houston’s Reliant Astrodome complex. The Texans have won only two division championships (both in the AFC South) and have made eight playoff appearances since joining the league as an expansion franchise in 2002. They are, to date, the only franchise from the AFC South to have won a Super Bowl, which they did in 2017 against the defending champion New England Patriots.

The San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team based in San Antonio, Texas. The Spurs compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. The team plays its home games at the AT&T Center in San Antonio.

The Spurs are one of four former American Basketball Association (ABA) teams to remain intact in the NBA after the 1976 ABA–NBA merger and are the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship. The franchise has won five NBA championships, which is tied for fourth-most in NBA history behind only the Boston Celtics (17), Los Angeles Lakers (16), and Chicago Bulls (6). Along with the Golden State Warriors and Houston Rockets, they are one of only three teams with active NBA titles that were not awarded by either committee when it was founded on June 6, 1966. The Spurs qualified for every postseason since 1999–2000 except 2016–17, when injuries forced them below eighth place in a highly competitive Western Conference.

As of 2019, the Spurs have made 23 appearances in the NBA Finals, resulting in five championships: 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007 and 2014. They are one of only six franchises to win five Finals without having ever lost an NBA Finals series; along with their fellow Texas teams—the Dallas Mavericks and Houston Rockets—and three Eastern franchises—the Boston Celtics and Miami Heat—this distinction is shared with theiristorical rivals, the Los Angeles Lakers with whom they formed a heated rivalry during much of the 1980s as well as during several playoff meetings while both were members of opposite conferences.

The Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers are a professional baseball team based in Arlington, Texas, located in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex. The Rangers franchise was founded in 1961 as the Washington Senators, an expansion team awarded to Washington, D.C., after the city’s first attempt to start a team failed when the proposed Washington Nationals could not find suitable ownership. After the 1971 season, the new Senators moved to Arlington, and debuted as the Texas Rangers the following spring.

The Rangers are members of the American League (AL) West division in Major League Baseball (MLB). Since794, the Rangers have played their home games at Globe Life Park in Arlington. The team’s name is borrowed fromthe famous law enforcement agency of the same name.

The Dallas Mavericks

The Dallas Mavericks are a professional basketball team based in Dallas, Texas. They are members of the Western Conference in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Mavericks began play as an expansion team in 1980. The team’s home arena is the American Airlines Center, which they share with the National Hockey League’s Dallas Stars.

Scroll to Top