Sport Teams in Texas

Wondering what professional sport teams are located in Texas? Check out this list of teams in the Lone Star State!

Checkout this video:


Texas is a state located in the southern United States. Texas is the second largest state in the United States by both area and population. Geographically located in the South Central region of the country, Texas shares borders with the U.S. states of Louisiana to the east, Arkansas to the northeast, Oklahoma to the north, New Mexico to the west, and the Mexican states of Chihuahua, Coahuila, Nuevo León, and Tamaulipas to the southwest, whilethe Gulf of Mexico is to the southeast.

Texas has a diverse sports culture, with numerous professional and collegiate level teams representing cities across the state. Sport teams based in Texas include:

-Houston Astros (MLB)
-Dallas Cowboys (NFL)
-Houston Texans (NFL)
-San Antonio Spurs (NBA)
-Dallas Mavericks (NBA)
-Houston Rockets (NBA)
-Texas Rangers (MLB)
-Dallas Stars (NHL)
-Houston Dynamo (MLS)

The teams

The teams in Texas are the Houston Astros, the Texas Rangers, the Dallas Cowboys, the Houston Texans, and the San Antonio Spurs.

Houston Texans

The Houston Texans are a professional American football team based in Houston, Texas. The Texans compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division. The team plays its home games at NRG Stadium, an outdoor stadium with a retractable roof in Houston’s NRG Park. The Texans first played in 2002 as an expansion team after Houston’s previous franchise, the Houston Oilers, folded in 1997.

Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys are a professional American football team that competes in the National Football League (NFL). The Cowboys are headquartered in Frisco, Texas, and play their home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. They are a member club of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) East division. Founded in 1960 as an expansion team, the Cowboys have played 61 seasons in the NFL and appeared in eight Super Bowls, winning five of them.

San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team based in San Antonio, Texas. The Spurs compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. The team plays its home games at the AT&T Center in San Antonio.

The Spurs are one of four former American Basketball Association (ABA) teams to remain intact in the NBA after the 1976 ABA–NBA merger and are the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship. The franchise has won NBA championships in 1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, and 2014. As of May 2015, the Spurs had the highest winning percentage among active NBA franchises.


In conclusion, there are many different sport teams in Texas. Some of the teams areprofessional while others are amateur. Different teams play different sports, so there is sure to be a team for everyone. You can find a team to join or watch depending on your interests.

Scroll to Top