Sport Teams in Texas: A Comprehensive Guide

This is a comprehensive guide to all the professional sports teams in Texas.

Checkout this video:


Texas is home to some of the most well-known and popular sports teams in the country. From football to basketball to baseball, there is a team for every sport and every fan.

The Dallas Cowboys are one of the most popular and successful teams in the NFL. They have won five Super Bowls, more than any other team in the league. The Cowboys play their home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

The Houston Texans are another popular football team in Texas. They are a member of the AFC South division of the NFL. The Texans play their home games at NRG Stadium in Houston, Texas.

The San Antonio Spurs are a professional basketball team that plays in the NBA. They are a member of the Western Conference Southwest Division. The Spurs have won five NBA championships, more than any other team in their conference. The Spurs play their home games at AT&T Center in San Antonio, Texas.

The Houston Astros are a professional baseball team that plays in the MLB. They are a member of the American League West division. The Astros have won one World Series championship, which they accomplished in 2017. The Astros play their home games at Minute Maid Park in Houston, Texas.

The Major League Teams

If you’re a sports fan, then you’ll definitely want to check out this comprehensive guide to sport teams in Texas! Here, we’ll cover all the major league teams, including the Houston Astros, the Texas Rangers, and the Dallas Cowboys. We’ll also touch on some of the minor league and college teams in the state. So whether you’re a casual fan or a die-hard fanatic, you’ll surely find something to interest you in this guide.

Houston Astros

The Houston Astros are an American professional baseball team based in Houston, Texas. The Astros compete in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member club of the American League (AL) West division, having moved to the division in 2013 after spending their first 51 seasons in the National League (NL). The Astros have played their home games at Minute Maid Park since 2000. The team was established as the Houston Colt .45s and began play in 1962 in the NL West. The Astros changed their name three years later, when they moved to the Astrodome, the first domed sports stadium in America.

Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers are a Major League Baseball team that plays in the American League West division. The team is based in Arlington, Texas, and their home ballpark is Globe Life Park in Arlington. The Rangers have won two World Series titles, in 2010 and 2011.

The Rangers were founded in 1961 as the Washington Senators, an expansion team of the American League. The team played their home games at Washington, D.C.’s Robert F. Kennedy Stadium. In 1971, the team relocated to Arlington, Texas, and became the Texas Rangers.

The Minor League Teams

There are several minor league baseball teams in Texas. These teams are the farm teams for the major league teams. The minor league teams are the Houston Astros, Texas Rangers, and San Antonio Missions. The Astros are the Triple-A affiliate of the Houston Astros. The Texas Rangers are the Double-A affiliate of the Texas Rangers. The San Antonio Missions are the Single-A affiliate of the San Antonio Spurs.

Corpus Christi Hooks

The Corpus Christi Hooks are a Minor League Baseball team of the Pacific Coast League (PCL) and the Triple-A affiliate of the Houston Astros. They are located in Corpus Christi, Texas, playing their home games at Whataburger Field, which opened in 2005 and has a capacity of over 11,000 people. The Hooks’ name pays homage to the hook-shaped Whataburger logo as well as to fishing culture in Corpus Christi.

In 2001, the Astros moved their Triple-A affiliation from New Orleans to Round Rock, Texas. A new stadium was built for the team and Corpus Christi was without professional baseball for four seasons. In 2005, new owners bought land south of downtown Corpus Christi with the intention of building a ballpark and bring professional baseball back to the city. The ballpark was completed in just over one year and christened Whataburger Field. The Hooks’ inaugural game was played on April 3, 2006 against the Omaha Royals (now known as the Kansas City T-Bones).

Frisco RoughRiders

The Frisco RoughRiders are a Minor League Baseball team that plays in the Texas League and is the Class AA affiliate of the Texas Rangers. The team is based in Frisco, Texas, and plays its home games at Dr Pepper Ballpark. The team’s name is a reference to the nineteenth-century law enforcement officers known as “riders.”

Founded in 2002, the RoughRiders played their first season in 2003 and have been very successful, winning their division six times (2004, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2016) and their league championship twice (2010, 2016). They have also made the playoffs thirteen times in their fifteen-year history. As of 2019, they are the only Texas League team to never have a losing season.

The RoughRiders began as an expansion team in 2002 after the Shreveport Captains moved to Frisco. The team’s name was chosen through a name-the-team contest. The contest asked for suggestions for a new name for the team with “rough riders” being one of the five finalist names. On September 25, 2002, “Rough Riders” was announced as the winning name with just over 30% of the vote.

The Collegiate Teams

Texas is home to some of the most competitive collegiate teams in the country. The Longhorns, the Aggies, the Cougars, and the Mustangs are all Division I schools that boast championship-caliber teams. In this guide, we’ll take a comprehensive look at all of the collegiate teams in Texas.

University of Texas Longhorns

The University of Texas Longhorns are the athletics teams that represent The University of Texas at Austin. The teams are sometimes referred to as the Horns and take their name from Longhorn cattle that were an important part of the development of Texas during the early 19th century. The women’s teams are sometimes called the Lady Longhorns, but generally both the men’s and women’s teams are referred to as Longhorns.

The University of Texas at Austin was a charter member of the Southwest Conference, which was founded in 1914. The conference was originally created to protect small schools from being raided by larger schools for their best players.Texas won 27 Southwest Conference championships in various sports, more than any other school in the conference. When the Southwest Conference dissolved in 1996, Texas became a charter member of the Big 12 Conference.

Texas has won 50 total national championships, 41 of which are NCAA National Championships. This places them sixth overall in NCAA Division I history, six behind USC for the most all-time. Additionally, Texas is second only to UCLA in Division I history with 135 team national championships overall,109 of which are NCAA National Championships.

Texas A&M Aggies

The Texas A&M Aggies are the athletic teams representing Texas A&M University. The Aggies compete in NCAA Division I as a member of the Southeastern Conference. The Aggies have 18 varsity teams and are known for their strong football team, which has won 3 national championships and produced 2 Heisman Trophy winners. Other popular sports at Texas A&M include basketball, baseball, and track & field.


In conclusion, there is a wide variety of sport teams in Texas for fans to support. From the Astros and Cowboys, to the Dynamo and FC Dallas, there is a team for everyone. And, with so many successful teams in the state, it’s no wonder that Texas is one of the most popular states for sports fans.

Scroll to Top