The Top 5 Professional Texas Sport Teams

Wondering which are the top 5 professional Texas sport teams? Here’s a list of the best of the best, including their accomplishments.

Checkout this video:

The Houston Astros

The Houston Astros are a professional baseball team that has represented Houston, Texas since 1962. The Astros have played in the American League West division since 2013. The team is owned by Jim Crane and play their home games at Minute Maid Park. The current manager is A. J. Hinch, and the general manager is Jeff Luhnow. The Astros are the 2017 World Series champions.

The franchise began play as the Colt .45s in 1962, as one of four expansion teams that year (along with the New York Mets, San Diego Padres, and Montreal Expos). George W. Bush was a partial owner of the team from 1989 to 1994. In 1965, the team changed its name to the “Houston Astros”, keeping with tradition in Major League Baseball of having teams named after their cities’ landmarks; Minute Maid Park is located next to Union Station, Houston’s historic train station.

The Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys are a professional American football team that competes in the National Football League (NFL). The Cowboys are headquartered in Frisco, Texas, and play their home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. They are currently a member of the NFC East division.

The team was founded in 1960 as an expansion team, and they have played in every NFL season since their inception. The Cowboys have made eight Super Bowl appearances, winning five of them. They are one of the most valuable sports franchises in the world and are also one of the most popular teams in the NFL.

As of 2019, the Cowboys have an estimated value of $5 billion, making them the most valuable sports franchise in the world. The team has also been ranked as the most profitable sports franchise in North America.

The San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs are a professional basketball team based in San Antonio, Texas. They are members of the Southwest Division of the Western Conference in the National Basketball Association (NBA). The Spurs have won five NBA championships, more than any other team in Texas. They have also won 19 division titles and made the playoffs 30 times in their history. As of 2019, they have an all-time winning percentage of .609, which is the highest among all current NBA teams.

The Spurs play their home games at the AT&T Center, which they share with the National Hockey League’s Dallas Stars. The arena is located just south of downtown San Antonio. It was built specifically for the Spurs and opened in 2002. The Spurs are owned by Peter Holt and coached by Gregg Popovich, who has been with the team since 1996.

Notable players on the current roster include LaMarcus Aldridge, DeMar DeRozan, Rudy Gay, and Patty Mills. Hall of Fame players who have played for the Spurs include George Gervin, David Robinson, and Moses Malone.

The Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers are a professional baseball team based in Arlington, Texas, a suburb of Dallas. The Rangers franchise is currently a member of the American League West division in Major League Baseball (MLB), after having previously served as an AL West team from 1972 to 1993. The Rangers began play as an expansion franchise in 1961. The team’s name is derived from the famous law enforcement agency of the same name.

The Houston Rockets

The Houston Rockets are a professional basketball team based in Houston, Texas. The Rockets compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. The franchise was established in 1967 as the San Diego Rockets, an expansion team originally based in San Diego. In 1971, the Rockets moved to Houston. The team plays its home games at the Toyota Center, located in downtown Houston. The Rockets have won two NBA championships and four Western Conference titles.

Scroll to Top