The Major Sport Teams in Texas

Wondering which teams reign supreme in Texas? Check out this blog to find out the major sport teams in Texas and their accomplishments.

Checkout this video:

The Houston Astros

The Houston Astros are a Major League Baseball team that plays in the American League West division. The team is based in Houston, Texas, and has been in existence since 1962. The Astros have won one World Series championship, in 2017, and have made seven appearances in the postseason overall. The team’s home ballpark is Minute Maid Park.

The Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys are a professional American football team that competes in the National Football League (NFL). The Cowboys are headquartered in Frisco, Texas, and play their home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. They are currently a member of the NFC East division.

The Cowboys were founded in 1960 as an expansion team, and they have since become one of the most successful teams in NFL history. They have won five Super Bowl titles, nine conference championships, and 22 division championships. They have also appeared in more Super Bowls than any other team in NFL history.

The Cowboys have a long-standing rivalry with the Washington Redskins, and the two teams compete against each other every year in what is known as the “Battle of the Beltway.” The Cowboys also have rivalries with the New York Giants and the Philadelphia Eagles.

The San Antonio Spurs

The San Antonio Spurs are an American professional basketball team based in San Antonio, Texas. The Spurs compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. The team plays its home games at the AT&T Center in San Antonio.

The Spurs are one of four former American Basketball Association (ABA) teams to remain intact in the NBA after the 1976 ABA–NBA merger and are the only former ABA team to have won an NBA championship. The franchise has won five NBA championships, four conference titles, and one division title. As of 2019, the Spurs have the fourth-most wins in NBA history.

The Texas Rangers

The Texas Rangers are a Major League Baseball team based in Arlington, Texas. The Rangers franchise was founded in 1961 as the Washington Senators, an expansion team awarded to Washington, D.C., after the original Washington Senators franchise moved to Minnesota and became the Twins. The team plays its home games at Globe Life Field, which opened in 2020 as the replacement for nearby Globe Life Park in Arlington.

The “Rangers” name comes from the legendary law enforcement agency of the same name that was formed in 1835 to protect settlers in the then-unteamed areas of Texas from hostile Native Americans. The team’s colors are red, white, and blue.

While most Major League teams represent cities or states, the Rangers (along with several other teams) represent an entire state: Texas. The franchise has been located in Arlington since 1972, and has been known as the Rangers since 1993.

The Houston Texans

The Houston Texans are a professional American football team based in Houston, Texas. The Texans compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the American Football Conference (AFC) South division. The team plays its home games at NRG Stadium in Houston’s Reliant Park, a stadium they share with the National Lacrosse League’s Houston Outlaws and MLS’ Houston Dynamo.

The Texans were established in 2002 as the Houston Texans Expansion franchise after divisional realignment created an opening for a fourth AFC team in South Texas. They are one of the youngest teams among all four major professional sports leagues, having not played their first game until 2002. They became only the second NFL franchise to be headquartered in Houston, after the now-defunctHouston Oilers—which relocated to Nashville, Tennessee (as the Tennessee Titans) prior to the 1997 season—and only the third Texas-based NFL franchise since 1952. The Texans have gone on to win more than 500 regular season games and appear in 11 post-season games since their establishment. As of October 2019, they have an all-time regular season record of 118–110 (.516), winning division titles in both 2011 and 2012; they also reached and lost Super Bowl LI during that latter campaign.

The Dallas Mavericks

The Dallas Mavericks are an American professional basketball team based in Dallas, Texas. The Mavericks compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member club of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. The team plays its home games at the American Airlines Center, which it shares with the National Hockey League’s Dallas Stars.

Founded in 1980 as an expansion team, the Mavericks won three division titles (1986, 1987, 1990) during the decade and qualified for the playoffs six times. In 2000, they won their first NBA Finals. Since then, the Mavericks have made the playoffs 12 times and advanced past the first round on nine occasions:winning division titles in 2002, 2007, 2010 ,2011, 2012 , 2015 , 2016 and 2020. As of 2020 they have completed 40 seasons in Dallas. Larry Bird is a former president of basketball operations for the Mavericks who took over from Donnie Nelson in 2014.

The franchise made its debut on October 28, 1980 against the now defunct Utah Jazz playing at Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band styled Reunion Arena and coached by Dick Motta loses 105-96 Jim Cleamons would take over as interim head coach for one game beforemath Canales led them to a 106-102 win over New Jersey Nets] and interim again for their final game 114-112 win over Detroit Pistons giving them a 3-0 record

The Houston Dynamo

The Houston Dynamo are a Major League Soccer club based in Houston, Texas. The Dynamo compete in the Western Conference of the MLS. The club won consecutive MLS Cup championships in 2006 and 2007. The Dynamo also won the Supporters’ Shield in 2007. The team plays its home games at BBVA Compass Stadium, which opened in 2012 and is located in downtown Houston.

The FC Dallas

The FC Dallas is an American professional soccer club based in the Dallas suburb of Frisco, Texas. The club competes as a member of Major League Soccer (MLS), the top league in the United States and Canada. The franchise began play in 1996 as one of the ten charter clubs of the league. Upon entering MLS, the succeeding Dallas Burn played their home games at the Cotton Bowl until 2001, when they moved to Pizza Hut Park (now Toyota Stadium) in Frisco.

Scroll to Top