All the Sport Teams in Texas

All the Sport Teams in Texas. Your one-stop shop for everything sports in Texas!

Checkout this video:


Football is a sport that is enjoyed by many people in Texas. Texas is home to some great football teams, including the Dallas Cowboys, the Houston Texans, and the San Antonio Spurs. Football is a great way to stay physically fit and it is also a great way to socialize with friends and family.


The NFL is the top professional football league in the United States and is made up of 32 teams. These teams are split evenly between the National Football Conference (NFC) and the American Football Conference (AFC). The NFL was founded in 1920 as the American Professional Football Association (APFA) before changing its name to the National Football League in 1922. The league currently has two annual flagship events: the NFL Draft, where new players are selected, and the Super Bowl, where the NFC and AFC champions face off.

High School

In Texas, high school football is a big deal. Teams compete in different conferences based on their size and location, and there is intense rivalries between some of the teams. The state is divided into six different regions, and each region has its own playoff system to determine which team will compete in the state championship game.


The Dallas Mavericks are an American professional basketball team based in Dallas, Texas. The Mavericks compete in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the Western Conference Southwest Division. The team plays its home games at the American Airlines Center, which it shares with the National Hockey League’s Dallas Stars.


The National Basketball Association (NBA) is the premier professional basketball league in North America. It is composed of 30 teams (29 in the United States and 1 in Canada), and is one of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. NBA players are the world’s best paid athletes by average annual salary per player.

The league was founded in New York City on June 6, 1946, as the Basketball Association of America (BAA). The league adopted the name National Basketball Association on August 3, 1949, after merging with its rival National Basketball League (NBL). The NBA’s regular season runs from October to April, with each team playing 82 games. Its playoffs extend into June.

The NBA Finals is the league’s championship series, played between June and July and usually featuring the league’s two best teams. These two teams have won all but six NBA championships since 1947, when the NBA was founded. The Boston Celtics have won the most championships, with 17 titles; followed by the Los Angeles Lakers, who have won 16; and then by the Chicago Bulls and San Antonio Spurs, who have both won six.

High School

In Texas, high school basketball is a big deal. Every winter, hundreds of thousands of fans pack into school gyms and arena to watch the best young talent in the state compete.

There are two main organization that oversee high school basketball in Texas – the University Interscholastic League (UIL) and the Texas Association of Private and Parochial Schools (TAPPS). The UIL is by far the largest, overseeing nearly 1,400 schools across the state. TAPPS oversee around 230 private and parochial schools.

Most of the top players in Texas will compete in either the UIL or TAPPS state tournament at the end of their season. These tournaments are always highly competitive and attract a lot of attention from college scouts and fans alike.


The Texas Rangers are a professional baseball team based in Arlington, Texas, located in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex. The Rangers franchise is currently a member of the American League West division, since 1994, and in that role serves as the division’s representative in the AL Championship Series.


Major League Baseball (MLB) is a professional baseball organization, the oldest of the four major professional sports leagues in the United States and Canada. A total of 30 teams play in the National League (NL) and American League (AL), with 15 teams in each league. The NL and AL were formed as separate legal entities in 1876 and 1901, respectively. After cooperating but remaining legally separate entities beginning in 1903, the leagues merged into a single organization led by the Commissioner of Baseball in 2000. The organization also oversees Minor League Baseball, which comprises about 240 teams affiliated with the Major League clubs. With the World Baseball Softball Confederation, MLB manages the international World Baseball Classic tournament.

High School

High school baseball is baseball that is played by high school students in the United States and Canada. As with most other U.S. high school sports, competition between schools is governed by state activities associations. High school baseball is also governed by the National Federation of State High School Associations and the rules of Major League Baseball.

Texas is home to some of the best high school baseball teams in the country. Members of the Texas High School Baseball Coaches Association are located across the state and work to promote high school baseball.


List of soccer teams in Texas: Dallas Cowboys, Houston Texans, San Antonio Spurs, Texas Rangers, FC Dallas.


Major League Soccer (MLS) is a men’s professional soccer league sanctioned by the United States Soccer Federation. The MLS constitutes one of the major professional sports leagues of the United States and Canada. The league comprises 26 teams—23 in the U.S. and 3 in Canada. The MLS regular season runs from March to October, with each team playing 34 games; the team with the best record is awarded the Supporters’ Shield and home-field advantage in the playoffs. Fourteen teams compete in the postseason MLS Cup Playoffs through November and December, culminating in the championship game, the MLS Cup. MLS teams also compete in other domestic competitions, such as the U.S. Open Cup, as well as international club tournaments such as CONCACAF Champions League and Canadian Championship

High School

High school soccer in Texas is governed by the University Interscholastic League (UIL). The UIL offers soccer as a fall sport for boys and girls at the high school level. There are three classifications for boys (4A, 5A, and 6A) and three classifications for girls (4A, 5A, and 6A).

Scroll to Top