College Softball: All-time Southland honors

Remember when Texas State dominated the Southland Conference?

From 2001 (when head coach Ricci Woodard took over) until 2012 (the team’s last year in the league), the Bobcats won six regular-season championships and four tournament crowns.

Well, the Southland Conference recently recognized Texas State’s authority. On Thursday, the league released its all-time team and the list featured eight Bobcats and Woodard as the top coach.

Pitching led Texas State throughout its Southland Conference years and that’s why the league honored five of the program’s best hurlers. Ragan Blake, Jessica Chase, Chandler Hall, Nicole Neuerburg and Katie Ann Trahan all won Pitcher of the Year honors at some point in the career (some multiple times).

Non-pitchers included on the list included McKenzie Baack, Haley Gaddis and Alex Newton. Baack is second on the program’s all-time chart in batting average, Gaddis scored the second most runs all-time and Newton was the 2009 Player of the Year.

1 Comment

Filed under Softball

One response to “College Softball: All-time Southland honors

  1. waynemayo

    Just had a good visit with David Mayo here in Scappoose Oregon with his Grandmother here as well.

    She was born and raised in Amarillo on a dairy farm. Still drives. She’s been delivering meals on wheels for 40 years this year. She’s 88 next month. All of her deliveries are to people younger then her. It’s a hoot.

    David really likes Texas. He likes the people, the manner, everything.

    He’s excited about the defensive group this year. , The line’s going to be tougher and fast. He said one new tackle can clean 400 and probably does a 4.8.

    Also, there’s a new linebacker that’s just incredibly good.

    The coaches really got some great talent this year .

    Thanks for keeping me in the loop. David’s the youngest of 8 and I have grandchildren so I’m really distracted; your comments are about all I get.

    Am I going to be able to watch any of the games on TV This year? Texas Tech was the only one last year.

    Wayne Mayo It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done them better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions, and spends himself in a worthy cause; who, at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and who, at worst, if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory nor defeat. –Theodore Roosevelt, 26th President of the United States

    Date: Thu, 30 May 2013 19:04:55 +0000 To:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s